usingtherightwords

Guaranteed to improve your English

Like,Ya Know How People Misuse “Like” and “As?”


Like, Oh my God! The spirit of Moon Zappa and Valley Girls have taken over me and, like, I don’t know what to do! I feel, like, I don’t know how to use words right. My English teacher he, like, tried to teach me the difference between like and as, but all I could see was his grode tie! It had totally, like, mustard spots on it. Eww. Gross! I am sure!

So anyway he says, What is the difference between “like” and as?” And I’m like, “I don’t know, you’re the teacher.” And he was like, “You use like as a preposition  to compare nouns and pronouns.” And I was like, “Huh?” And he was like, “You use like as a preposition to compare two things. An example: Marisa writes like a seasoned author.” And I’m like, “OoooooKaaaaayyyyy.”

But he totally wasn’t done yet, and it was really sad. He then was like, “You use as as a conjunction that introduces clauses.” Then he went to the board and wrote, She researches her literature review as she should.

Then he turned to me and asked, “Do you understand?” But all I could see was the chalk dust all over his tie, mixing with the mustard. Ewwwwwww!!! Gag me!

But then he was like, “Do you understand”? And I was like, “I think so.”

Whatever!!!!!

Like, until next time! Totally use the right words!

leebarnathan.com

November 18, 2011 - Posted by | Uncategorized | , , , , , , , , , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

