usingtherightwords

Guaranteed to improve your English

What Happens When Soccer Players See Red


The high school soccer season typically kicks off in the fall, but where I live, it’s in the winter. It begins the Monday after Thanksgiving and concludes in March. This is my 10th season officiating, meaning I have the power to hand out yellow cards and red cards to players who disregard or willfully break rules.

I give red cards for a variety of reasons (but since this isn’t a soccer blog, I’ll spare you stories). When I do, I disqualify a player. Another way to describe that is to send off a player.

I am using the term as a verb, thus it’s two words. Hyphenate it (send-off) and it’s a noun.

I find it odd to refer to a red-carded player as a send-off, so I prefer “disqualified.” Regardless, a red cards means I have to write a disciplinary report, and the player gets suspended for some future matches…

Oh, wait. I forgot this isn’t a soccer blog.

Until next time! Use the right words!

leebarnathan.com

December 7, 2011 - Posted by | Uncategorized | , ,

1 Comment »

  1. When someone writes aan article he/she maintains the thought of a user in his/her brain tat how a user can be
    aware of it. So that’s why this piece of
    writing is outstdanding. Thanks!

    Comment by Dream League Soccer google play | August 25, 2014 | Reply


Leave a Reply

