usingtherightwords

Guaranteed to improve your English

Is Your Television Really in an Entertainment Center?


Here’s one from the “It’s Right But It Could Be More Right” file:

I was watching “Let’s Make a Deal” as I walked on a treadmill this morning when I saw a woman win an entertainment center. It consisted of a big-screen TV, a DVR and “surround sound.” It did NOT include a piece of furniture in which televisions, stereos, DVRs, books, pictures, videos and CDs are kept.

This got me thinking about the entertainment center in my house: It has a big square to hold the television (our 17-year-old non-high-definition set still works fine) plus some shelves to hold the stereo/CD player, old cassette tapes (have I mentioned I’m a technology dinosaur in many ways?) and DVDs. Is that thing really a center?

I checked my trusty Webster’s Ninth New Collegiate Dictionary. Center had 10 definitions as a noun and five as a verb. One definition said, “a point, area, person, or thing that is most important or pivotal in relation to an induced activity, interest or condition.”

OK,  center is correct here.

Then I looked up console. The fifth of six definitions read, “a cabinet (as for a radio or television set) designed to rest directly on the floor.”

This sounds more correct.

In the end, I think cabinet might even be better, although I don’t believe anyone will start calling it “an entertainment cabinet,” even though that’s what it is: “an upright case housing a radio or television receiver.”

Until next time! Use the (most) right words!

leebarnathan.com

February 17, 2012 - Posted by | Uncategorized | , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

2 Comments »

  1. This is another one that really bothers me, so I’m glad you brought it up! We have what I call a TV Stand. It’s kind of a table with shelves to hold the PS3 (since it plays blu-rays and DVDs, we don’t have a regular DVD player anymore), the sound bar and the equalizer.

    My grandmother had what I consider an Entertainment Center, which was a big cabinet with doors on the front that held the television, the VCR, the turntable and some of her videotapes.

    Comment by booksnob | February 17, 2012 | Reply

  2. I remember entertainment centers like the one your grandmother had, with the big glass doors perhaps? Or the kind that had wooden doors that slide back and reveal the TV? AH, memories.

    Glad to bring up stuff people get bothered by. Feel free to send ideas.

    Lee

    Comment by usingtherightwords | February 18, 2012 | Reply


Leave a Reply

