usingtherightwords

Guaranteed to improve your English

Let’s “Segue” to a “Segway”


One of my current projects is editing a manuscript for what the authors hope will become a published book. You never know what you’ll find in other writers’ copy.

The last word on the top line of page 83 is segway. Its intended usage is “to proceed what follows without pause from one theme to another.” However, that word is segue, not to be confused with the New Hampshire-based personal transporter company Segway Inc.

What’s interesting is the author who handed me the manuscript asked me how to spell the word. When I told him, he responded, “That’s what I thought” and proceeded to inform me that his partner, who has written several books, spelled it the wrong way, and he who knows how to spell it is unpublished and has had brain surgery.

I can’t completely blame the author who spelled it wrong. It reminds me of my Scholastic Aptitude Test, when I first encountered the word “façade.” I had never heard of the word fa-KAID but I had heard of the word fa-SAAD.

Shows you what I knew — as a high school senior. These guys are  adults.

Until next time! Use the right words!

leebarnathan.com

March 1, 2012 - Posted by | Uncategorized | , , , , , , , , , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

