usingtherightwords

Guaranteed to improve your English

Learning from “The Big Bang Theory’s” Geniuses or My Attempt to Write a “Twilight Zone” Ending


I got into “The Big Bang Theory” late. It’s soon to conclude Season Five, but I’m back in the second season, specifically the episode in which Leonard’s mother, played beautifully by Christine Baranski (and it’s really too bad she’s only in one other episode), pays a visit.

As Beverly Hofstadter walks up the stairs with Penny (Kaley Cuoco), Penny asks her what Leonard was like when he was little. To which Beverly replies, “Oh, I think you mean young. He’s always been little.”

I had always understood little to mean young.

Until I checked the dictionary.

I expected to find tucked in among the numerous definitions pertaining to size and amount one relating to age. To this I would have said as I’ve said before, “This is more correct.”

Instead, I found nothing about age. But among the numerous definitions of young was one that shocked me.

It read, “having little experience.” (italics added)

Until next time! Use the right words!

leebarnathan.com

April 26, 2012 - Posted by | Uncategorized | , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

1 Comment »

  1. […] Learning from “The Big Bang Theory’s” Geniuses or My Attempt to Write a “Twi… (usingtherightwords.wordpress.com) […]

    Pingback by 'Big Bang Theory' Star Shows Off Bikini Body | April 4, 2013 | Reply


Leave a Reply

