usingtherightwords

Guaranteed to improve your English

For the Gun Lovers Out There


I don’t own a gun. I find guns dangerous yet I also believe that guns don’t kill people; people kill people. With guns, some of which are used only for killing (come on, you really think an AK-47, Sturmgewehr 44 or Uzi is for hunting?).

But I digress.

Today I was editing a book and came across this sentence: “Henceforth, you will remain in the cross hairs of an enraged Administration.”

Taken out of context, it can mean Obama’s coming to get you. And your guns. Word snobs like me will spot the cliché immediately. But I was struck by the words cross hairs. I always have been under the impression that the fine wires or threads in gun’s eyepiece or some other optical instrument was one word.

I looked it up. Two words.

How do you like that? My stereotypical image of Bubba “huntin’ me some ‘coon” or of Dick Cheney shooting at his friend has been destroyed. Gun owners know how to spell cross hairs, yet the guy who came in seventh in his sixth-grade Spelling Bee (and only because I heard the word wrong — I spelled acknowledge correctly) does not.

So raise your guns and salute. The Second Amendment lives!

Until next time! Use the right words!

leebarnathan.com

 

October 18, 2012 - Posted by | Uncategorized | , , , , , , , , , , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

