usingtherightwords

Guaranteed to improve your English

What a Bunch of Malarkey!


Don’t you just love swear words? They transcend generations. I know my parents heard/used some of the same ones I know/use.

As s a child, I realized quickly that “shoot” and “fudge” were words used in place of swear words. I also thought some words were swear words that really weren’t.

In my not-fully-developed brain, I thought any word that people sputtered to say was a swear word. So, when an angry person shouted, “What a bunch of malarkey!” I thought malarkey was a swear word. No one used it very often, so it must have been bad, I reasoned.

Of course, I found out as I aged (and my brain matured) that it’s not a swear word. So then I thought that malarkey was not a real word but used in place of a swear word. Again, I didn’t hear it very much, I reasoned, so it couldn’t be a real word.

Now, as an adult, I have a list of confusing words, and malarkey is on it. People sometimes forget the e and spell it malarky, which is wrong.

In context, I thought the word means “nonsense.”  I finally looked it up. It means “insincere or foolish talk.”

I hope no one thinks this blog is full of malarkey.

Until next time! Use the right words!

leebarnathan.com

 

January 3, 2013 - Posted by | Uncategorized | , , , , , , , ,

1 Comment »

  1. […] What a Bunch of Malarkey! (usingtherightwords.wordpress.com) […]

    Pingback by Understanding the context of swearing « Real Rest is the Best | January 9, 2013 | Reply


Leave a Reply

