usingtherightwords

Guaranteed to improve your English

How Can You “Verify” When You Don’t Know Anything?


Today, I called a health insurance company for the first time. After I stated my reason for the phone call, the agent on the other side of the line asked if he could verify some information.

I responded: “How can you verify if you don’t have any info on me?”

How indeed. The dictionary definition of verify is “to confirm or substantiate,” or “to establish the truth, accuracy or reality of.” The definition (and its synonym confirm) imply that one must have information so a different person can agree or disagree with the facts at hand. Here, the agent wanted my name and address, but he didn’t have it because I had never previously called this company.

What he should have said was, “Could I obtain some information?”

Which I gave him anyway; and good thing, too, because I was entitled to an insurance discount.

Plus, I wouldn’t have a blog post without him. Here’s to customer service!

Until next time! Use the right words!

leebarnathan.com

 

February 19, 2013 - Posted by | Uncategorized | , , , , , , , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

