usingtherightwords

Guaranteed to improve your English

Netflix: A Case of Caption Writing Gone Wrong


In the using-the-real-words system, the people are represented by various important rules…

I usually don’t deal with grammar rules, but I saw something on Netflix the other night that shocked me.

I watch movies and TV shows with the captions on because 1) I can watch at a lower volume so as to not awaken anyone; and 2) I’m lazy.

So while viewing an episode of “Law and Order: Special Victims Unit,” I saw a name written in lower case.

Huh? WTF?

People, people, people! How can you miss this one? It’s one of the most basic rules of English. When using the right words, CAPITALIZE NAMES!!!

I really need to find a job writing captions.

Until next time! Use the right words (and capitalize them)!

leebarnathan.com

March 6, 2013 - Posted by | Uncategorized | , , , , , , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

