usingtherightwords

Guaranteed to improve your English

One Direction’s Attempt to Influence My Daughter’s English


If you have a tween or teenaged daughter, chances are you have heard of One Direction, an English boy band formed at the suggestion of  “X Factor ” (English version) judge Nicole Scherzinger and signed to Simon Cowell’s record label. And if you have said daughter, she probably reads fan magazines in which the boys’ every moves are carefully reported, deconstructed, etc.

My daughter’s favorite is Niall Horan (for you uninitiated, you pronounce his first name Nile). Today while driving my daughter to school, she told me that Horan would date a fan “if she didn’t fangirl him.”

I asked her to repeat what she said to make sure I heard correctly. Then I asked her to use fangirl in a sentence. It became clear that fangirl is a verb meaning “to behave like a female fan, i.e., scream, cry, go crazy, faint or otherwise embarrass herself in front of her idol.”

I didn’t even bother to look it up in the dictionary. I know it’s not there. Wikipedia lists fangirl as a noun meaning “a female who is highly devoted and biased in opinion towards a single subject or hobby within a given field.”

I started thinking about real words she could have used. Words such as scream at, cry hysterically, go crazy, faint, act embarrassingly came to mind.

I sighed. Then I bemoaned the millennial generation.

Until next time! Use the right (and real) words!

leebarnathan.com

March 8, 2013 - Posted by | Uncategorized | , , , , , , , , , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

