usingtherightwords

Guaranteed to improve your English

So That’s Why I Sneeze After a Big Meal


For many years now, I’ve noticed I sneeze incessantly after overeating. It happens at particular restaurants: Souplantation (called Sweet Tomatoes outside of my home state) and Bob’s Big Boy in particular. But it happens in other places, too. I usually sneeze between five and seven times in about a two-minute period, but I’ve reached 10, 12, even 17 sneezes in one fit. A runny nose of clear, watery stuff usually accompanies these fits, so I need several pieces of facial tissue.

So, today I introduce new words to use right: the condition gustatory rhinitis.

According to my online (and dictionary) research, rhinitis is an inflammation of the nose’s mucous membrane . Hot or spicy foods usually trigger the sneezing fits, but that doesn’t happen to me. Hot, spicy or acidic foods triggers heartburn in me; overeating triggers sneezing fits, which is still within the realm of normal for this condition. However, heartburn can trigger this form of rhinitis, and the older you get, the more likely you develop it.

The only treatment is to avoid the foods that cause the sneezing — or in my case, stop overeating. This won’t be easy because I love the desserts at both restaurants.

Hope you enjoyed your medical lesson for the day.

Until next time! Use the right words!

leebarnathan.com

March 19, 2013 - Posted by | Uncategorized | , , , , , , , , , , ,

2 Comments »

  1. Over eating mightnot be so good

    Comment by bhardwazbhardwaz | March 19, 2013 | Reply

  2. I’ve got that as well. Sneezing jags after overeating! It doesn’t matter what I eat, only when I overeat! GOD’S way of telling me to stop!!

    Comment by Deborah | October 30, 2016 | Reply


Leave a Reply

