usingtherightwords

Guaranteed to improve your English

What Do You Call April 1?


I actually know people who call April 1 “my birthday,” but those aren’t the people I’m trying to reach.

My intended audience is those who play tricks on someone or who are tricked on April 1.

First, the name of the day is April Fools’ Day. Notice the apostrophe.

Therefore, the name isn’t April Fool’s Day and it isn’t April Fools Day.

If you play a trick that succeeds, you had better shout, “April Fool!” and not “April Fools!”

But in some societies, if your trick is after midday, be prepared to hear, “April Fools’ is past and gone. You’re the fool and I am none.”

I wish I knew that saying when I was a child. It would have saved me much aggravation.

Until next time! Use the right words!

leebarnathan.com

 

April 1, 2013 - Posted by | Uncategorized | , , , , , , , ,

3 Comments »

  1. Mom was worried Mark would arrive April 1-although he was due 2 weeks later!

    Comment by SFL | April 1, 2013 | Reply

  2. The phrase we used to say was “April Fools’ is gone and past, and you’re the only one that lasts.”

    Comment by Anne | April 2, 2013 | Reply


Leave a Reply

