usingtherightwords

Guaranteed to improve your English

Attention Attorneys: This Has Probative Value


For Father’s Day, I received a t-shirt that says, “I am silently correcting your grammar.” I bring this up because last week, at a networking function, I did just that. Or I thought I did.

I heard an estate planning attorney use the word probate as a verb: “If you have to probate, it could get costly.” I only know probate as a noun. It’s a kind of court through which a person’s estate is distributed.

I didn’t know probate as a verb, so I checked the dictionary and found this definition: “to establish (a will) by probate as genuine and valid.”

I suppose I should have known that this kind of attorney would get it right. Now, I will, too.

Until next time! Use the right words!

leebarnathan.com

 

June 24, 2013 - Posted by | Uncategorized | , , , , , , ,

3 Comments »

  1. It’s also an adjective…as in probate court.

    Comment by Anne Davies | June 24, 2013 | Reply

  2. You are right, although some people might consider “probate court” a compound noun.

    Comment by usingtherightwords | June 25, 2013 | Reply

  3. I love how you keep me on my toes, Anne!

    Comment by usingtherightwords | June 25, 2013 | Reply


Leave a Reply

