usingtherightwords

Guaranteed to improve your English

Don’t Bother Learning How to “Score-Keep”


As I’ve written before, I officiate high school sports. It’s girls volleyball season, and I must take a scorekeeping class each year.

What I am not taking is a “score-keep” class, and it was this non-word that one of my instructors used last night. Actually, she used it as a verb (and I paraphrase here): “You have to learn how to scorekeep so you can teach the kids at the officials table.”

I looked it up. Score-keep is not a word. Scorekeeping is a word that means “the act of recording the score of a sports contest,” usually by an official called the scorekeeper. The word scorekeeper goes back to about 1880.

So, learn how to keep score, not score-keep.

Until next time! Use the right words!

leebarnathan.com

August 20, 2013 - Posted by | Uncategorized | , , , , , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

