usingtherightwords

Guaranteed to improve your English

I Seem to Remember “In The Back of My Mind …”


Recently, I heard someone use the term “back of my mind.” This made me wonder if the brain functions associated with the saying, worry and memory, are really in the back of the brain.

In my experiences with something in the back of my mind, I’m usually trying to remember something. It might be a neutral fact, or it might be something that causes me to pause and express concern, worry or anxiety.

Well, I looked online to find which brain parts control worry and memory. Both are controlled in the part of the brain called the limbic system. Inside it is the amygdala, which is the part that comes alive when we worry; and the hippocampus, which controls all or memory functions: sensory, short-term and long-term.

(Incidentally, hippocampus gets its name from its shape: It looks like a seahorse, and hippocampus is Greek for “coiled horse.”)

The only problem: the limbic system is in the middle of the brain, not the back.

Until next time! Use the right words!

leebarnathan.com

August 22, 2013 - Posted by | Uncategorized | , , , , , , , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

