usingtherightwords

Guaranteed to improve your English

Pass The “Mustard” in the “Muster” Station


I never went on a cruise as a child. Too expensive, my parents always said. So, I found it ironic that my first cruise, 11 years ago, was in honor of my mother and stepfather’s 25th wedding anniversary.

Not long after we boarded, there was the cruise equivalent of a fire drill: Everyone had to go to their cabin, put on their life vest and report to a predetermined meeting area called the muster station.

Since the captain was not American, it sounded to me like mustard station. This was weird because at the time of the drill, I had just eaten, and I knew I wasn’t hungry enough to eat another hot dog with mustard. Besides, why were we wearing our life preservers to eat a hot dog? And would everybody there want mustard? What if they wanted ketchup or mayo? I didn’t hear anything about a ketchup or mayo station.

I’m kidding, of course. The inspiration for this was last night at a networking meeting when a travel agent talked about cruising to Alaska. That got me thinking.

So, I looked up muster in the dictionary. It’s a verb that means, “to cause to gather.” As a noun, it means “an act of assembling.” There was no adjective definition, but I understand that a muster station is a gathering place.

Where there isn’t any mustard.

Until next time! Use the right words!

leebarnathan.com

 

September 13, 2013 - Posted by | Uncategorized | , , , , , , , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

