usingtherightwords

Guaranteed to improve your English

What Did I Expect From Pro Athletes and Radio Hosts?


My daughter likes to listen to Radio Disney as I drive her to school. The other day, the morning hosts interviewed basketball player Tyson Chandler of the New York Knicks. They talked about how often players play pranks in the NBA, but to describe it, they used pranking.

I don’t know prank as a verb. I know it as a noun that means “a malicious act,” “a mildly mischievous act” and “a ludicrous act.”

So, I looked it up in the dictionary and found prank as a verb. But it means “to dress or adorn gaily of showily” and “to show oneself off.”

At first, I thought, OK, maybe my dictionary is outdated. I’d better look online. So I did — and didn’t find any different definition (but I did find a definition that used “ostentatious.”

I had to consider the sources: a pro athlete who never attended college and two radio hosts of a show whose target demographic is children.

Not the most intelligent of sources. I should have known better.

Until next time! Use the right words!

leebarnathan.com

 

November 14, 2013 - Posted by | Uncategorized | , , , , , , , , , , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

