usingtherightwords

Guaranteed to improve your English

Are You “Blond” or “Blonde?”


As I read Time magazine, I came across a physical description of a woman’s hair color: blond.

That got me thinking. For as long as I could remember, I have seen blond to describe a male and blonde to describe a female. The Associated Press Stylebook, which journalists use, makes this distinction. Perhaps Time has its own stylebook.

I checked my Webster dictionary, which gave this definition: “of a flaxen, golden, light auburn, or pale yellowish brown color.” But it defined both words and did  not specify gender.

I checked dictionary.com, which specified blonde as being female.

I place this in the “Both Are Correct so Pick One and be Consistent” category, although I’ll continue to make the gender distinction.

Until next time! Use the right words!

leebarnathan.com

January 29, 2014 - Posted by | Uncategorized | , , , , , , , , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

