usingtherightwords

Guaranteed to improve your English

Do I Deserve Your Congratulations?


My daughter reached a rite of passage in her life this past weekend, causing a great many people to come up to me and say, “Congratulations.”

My gut reaction is to say, “For what? I didn’t do anything” because it was my daughter who did it all (I reached this rite of passage 32 years ago, so I’ve had my moment). But not having a dictionary handy this weekend, I simply went with society’s norm and said, “Thank you.”

Later, I looked up congratulate just to make sure I’m correct. The definition: “to express vicarious pleasure to (a person) on the occasion of success or good fortune.”

The key word in the definition is vicarious, which means “experienced or realized through imaginative or sympathetic participation in the experience of another.” People are vicariously experiencing the joy I felt at my daughter’s accomplishment, so it appears that, as the father, congratulations are in order.

To which I say, “Thank you.”

Until next time! Use the right words!

leebarnathan.com

February 3, 2014 - Posted by | Uncategorized | , , , , , , , ,

1 Comment »

  1. Regardless of your involvment or non involvment for this particular event, it was yours and your wifes upbringing of your daughter that instilled the motivation for your daughter to do so well and be motivated. Congratualtions to you was for your involvment in her life and setting the righ example for her to follow. So accept the complement with grace. Well deseved.

    Comment by bRIAN | February 3, 2014 | Reply


Leave a Reply

