usingtherightwords

Guaranteed to improve your English

“If I Were You …”


This weekend, I read the comic strip “Get Fuzzy” by Darby Conley. In it, Bucky Katt  expresses annoyance at  Satchel Pooch (which happens in just about every strip). At one point, Bucky tells Satchel “If I were you, I’d curl up and sob.” (In the strip, the word were is bolded for emphasis.)

Then, seemingly correcting himself, Bucky says, “If I were in your predicament, …” (In the strip, the word predicament is italicized.)

I’ve often wondered about people who start a sentence with, “If I were you.” I know it’s a way for people to state that they would do something differently if put in the same situation. The comic strip illustrates this.

There’s just one problem: If I were you, I’d do exactly the same thing because you behaved this way, so I would behave the same way because I am you.

Isn’t circular reasoning great?

Until next time! Use the right words!

leebarnathan.com

February 24, 2014 - Posted by | Uncategorized | , , , , , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

