usingtherightwords

Guaranteed to improve your English

Say It! Say It!


From the “If You Only Heard What You Said” Dept.:

I often wonder why people string together certain words because those words they choose make no sense. Today’s case in point: “I was going to say.”

You know how you want to say something but you’re interrupted, and then when the speaker comes back to you, you begin with “I was going to say…”

Then you say it anyway. So, why not say “As I was about to say” or “I want to say”? Better yet, why not just say it?

I was going to say implies that you never got a chance to say it, as in “I was going to say before you cut me off” or something to that effect. But then you did say it, so you no longer were going to say it.

You said it.

Until next time! Use the right words!

leebarnathan.com

March 31, 2014 - Posted by | Uncategorized | , , , , , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

