usingtherightwords

Guaranteed to improve your English

Expecting What? An Idiom


Thanks to living in the society we do, we can understand what people mean when they say certain utterances.

Example: Earlier this week, I went to a networking lunch in which a woman stood up and announced she was expecting.

Now, we all know that she meant she’s pregnant. But being the smart-ass I am, I said to her, “Expecting what? I’m expecting you to tell me …”

She didn’t seem to understand what I was doing, so she smiled weakly. Picking up on her body language, I continued, “… that you’re having a baby.” Only then did her smile widen.

Later, I looked up expecting to see if the pregnancy-related definition was there. It was not in my dictionary but it was online as an idiom.

An idiom, you remember, is “the language peculiar to a people or a district, community, or class.”

So, if you’re not from around here, you might wonder what everyone was expecting.

Until next time! Use the right words!

leebarnathan.com

April 18, 2014 - Posted by | Uncategorized | , , , , , , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

