usingtherightwords

Guaranteed to improve your English

Pushing, Pulling and Flushing


I recently used a urinal that gave a specific flushing instruction: “To flush, push handle in.”

Normally, pushing the handle down triggers the flush. This instruction only confused me. Which way was in?

To push is “to thrust forward, downward or outward.”

I pushed down. Nothing.

I pushed toward the wall, away from me. Nothing.

I pushed diagonally. Nothing.

I pushed up. Nothing.

Finally, I pushed toward me. Flush.

No wonder I couldn’t figure it out, I thought. I was being asked to pull.

To pull is “to exert force upon so as to cause or tend to cause motion toward the force.”

The key word wasn’t in, it was push.

The next time I needed to use that bathroom, I went to a different urinal.

Until next time! Use the right words!

leebarnathan.com

May 1, 2014 - Posted by | Uncategorized | , , , , , , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

