usingtherightwords

Guaranteed to improve your English

This Blog is Fastidious


Yesterday, I received a comment about a post from Sept. 25, 2012, about my annoyance that ESPN uses too much slang.

It’s from someone affiliated with some sort of insurance company, and it read, “I am regular reader, how are you everybody? This post posted at this site is fastidious.”

Never mind the poor grammar — this probably came from someone whose primary language isn’t English, although the computer IP address says it’s from Hawaii. What struck me was the last word.

I’ve occasionally seen fastidious used, but it’s not a word that’s in my regular vocabulary. So, I looked it up.

It has several definitions including  “scornful,” “having high and often capricious standards,” “difficult to satisfy or please” and “reflecting a meticulous, sensitive, or demanding attitude.”

Sounds right to me, and I’m fine with that, being the word snob I am.

The response I gave to the comment: “You are correct. I hope it doesn’t bother you.”

Until next time! Use the right words!

leebarnathan.com

July 25, 2014 - Posted by | Uncategorized | , , , , , , , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

