usingtherightwords

Guaranteed to improve your English

An Hour in Bars Feels Like Three Hours


I don’t frequent bars and taverns very often, but when I do, I prefer Dos Equis — wait a minute, this is not a commercial and I am not the Most Interesting Man in the World.

But I digress.

I always notice that bars advertise “Happy Hour,” which I know is a time for discounted drinks and appetizers.

I also always notice that happy hour is usually from 4-7 p.m. or something like that.

I furthermore always wonder if the folks realize that an hour is, according to my dictionary, “the 24th part of a day,” aka 60 minutes, so 4-7 p.m. would be 180 minutes.

Why don’t they just call them “happy hours?” My research shows that they were once called happy hours, so why not now?

Maybe they think we’re already too drunk to realize it.

Until next time! Use the right words!

leebarnathan.com

August 18, 2014 - Posted by | Uncategorized

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

