usingtherightwords

Guaranteed to improve your English

You Don’t Really Hate Mondays


“Can I take a moment to say something insightful,” my daughter asked me as I drove her to school today.

I paused. “OK. What have you got?”

“You know how people say they hate Mondays?” she began. “Well, if there was no Monday, then everybody would hate Tuesday.”

I had to agree. She made sense.

I’m reminded of the Boomtown Rats song, “I Don’t Like Mondays.” It, too, isn’t really about the day of the week; it’s about a school shooting. Here’s a segment from Wikipedia, explaining Bob Geldof’s inspiration:

… the shooting spree of 16-year-old Brenda Ann Spencer, who fired at children in a school playground at Grover Cleveland Elementary School in San Diego, California on 29 January 1979, killing two adults and injuring eight children and one police officer. Spencer showed no remorse for her crime and her full explanation for her actions was “I don’t like Mondays.”

People don’t really hate Mondays; they hate the first day of the work week, regardless of what it’s called.

So, smile on this and every Monday. It could be much worse.

Until next time! Use the right words!

leebarnathan.com

September 15, 2014 - Posted by | Uncategorized | , , , , , , , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

