usingtherightwords

Guaranteed to improve your English

Extreme Sensitivity to Eating and Breathing — There’s a Name For It


When I was younger, my mother always told me to chew with my mouth closed. No one wanted to look at the food in my mouth, and no one wanted to hear me chomping. So, I learned how to eat that way.

Fast forward some 30 years. I’m still eating the same way, but my daughter has a problem with it. I’m still too noisy.

She absolutely hates the way I eat. I’m not sure what I can do. My wife doesn’t think I eat too loudly.

It turns out my daughter might have a condition called misophonia. It’s extreme sensitivity to sound and causes negative reactions, usually anger and frustration in my daughter’s case.

According to Wikipedia, people who have misophonia are most commonly angered by specific sounds, such as slurping, throat-clearing, people clipping their nails, brushing their teeth, chewing crushed ice, eating, drinking, breathing, sniffing, talking, sneezing, yawning, walking, chewing gum, laughing, snoring, typing on a keyboard, whistling or coughing; saying certain consonants; or repetitive sounds.

My daughter also gets mad when she hears me breathing. I’m not sure what to do because i have to breathe.

I also say she might have misophonia because it hasn’t been classified as a disorder in the Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders, Fifth Edition (DSM-5). But it’s a safe bet she has this.

And although it’s also not in the DSM-5, it’s a safe bet I have Living With a Teenager-itis.

Until next time! Use the right words!

leebarnathan.com

December 2, 2014 - Posted by | Uncategorized | , , , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

