usingtherightwords

Guaranteed to improve your English

There’s No Skin on Teeth


As I drove my daughter to school today, we barely passed an intersection before a stoplight turned red.

“Wow,” I said, “we barely made that light by the skin of our teeth.”

“Our teeth doesn’t have skin,” she replied matter-of-factly.

I knew she was right. I wondered where the expression came from (the Bible, Job 19:20 — look it up).

Then I said, “OK, we escaped by the enamel of our teeth,” knowing the enamel is the tooth’s outermost layer, “but that doesn’t sound right.

“How about ‘by the hair of your chinny-chin-chin?'” I said stroking her chin, which had no hair. So, I said, “How about ‘by the hair of my chinny-chin-chin?'”

She was satisfied, and we continued to drive to school.

Until next time! Use the right words!
leebarnathan.com

March 9, 2015 - Posted by | Uncategorized | , , , , , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

