usingtherightwords

Guaranteed to improve your English

Are You a “Client” or a “Customer?”


Looking ahead to my week, I noticed that I have a client coming over on Tuesday to work on her 30-second elevator speech.

Then I stopped and wondered if this person is a client or a customer?

I looked up the words. A client is “a person who engages the professional advice or services of another.” A customer is “one that purchases a commodity or service.” Also, my dictionary lists customer as a synonym for client but not the other way around.

The differences in definition are subtle, but in researching the differences, many sources identify one key difference: a client has a more in-depth and personal relationship than a customer. A client might ask for many different types of help or services many times; a customer might want different products or services (such as at a market), but  the relationship between customer and business or businessperson is so much less personal.

As for the person I’m meeting with, since I see this person often, and since this person has hired me in the past, I say this person is a client.

I think I want more clients than customers.

Until next time! Use the right words!

leebarnathan.com

April 6, 2015 - Posted by | Uncategorized | , , , , , , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

