usingtherightwords

Guaranteed to improve your English

Yogi Berra or George W. Bush?


Today, as I watched “First Take” on ESPN2, I heard former football player-turned ESPN commentator Damien Woody say, “If they play each other 10 times, they’ll win seven out of eight.”

He sounds like Yogi Berra or George W. Bush, I thought. But it gave me an idea: Name the speaker of the following statements: Yogi Berra or George W. Bush. Both are famous for, among other things, uttering sentences that, if they only heard what they had said, they would realize how stupid they sound.

1. “I want to thank you for taking the time to come out and witness my hanging.”

2. “You teach a child to read, and he or her will be able to pass a literacy test.”

3. “You better cut the pizza in four pieces because I’m not hungry enough to eat six.”

4. “I want to thank everyone who made this day necessary.”

5. “You can fool some of the people all the time, and those are the ones you want to concentrate on.”

6. “You’ve got to be very careful if you don’t know where you’re going, because you might not get there.”

7. “I enjoy now doing what I do … playing golf, relaxing a little, enjoying life.”

8. “I just want you to know that, when we talk about war, we’re really taking about peace.”

9.  “I’m not going to buy my kids an encyclopedia. Let then walk to school like I did.”

10. “Our nation must come together to unite.”

Answers: 1. Bush, 2. Bush, 3. Berra, 4. Berra, 5. Bush, 6. Berra, 7. Berra, 8. Bush, 9. Berra, 10. Bush.

Until next time! Use the right words!

leebarnathan.com

May 8, 2015 - Posted by | Uncategorized | , , , , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

