usingtherightwords

Guaranteed to improve your English

An Honors English Teacher, No Less!


I have written about how my daughter has started listening for mistakes that can be turned into blog posts. Her first day of high school provided one.

Her Honors English teacher said she was an alumni of whatever university she attended. Then she said it again — three more times. Each time she said it, my daughter wanted to raise her hand and say, “It’s not alumni! That’s plural! It’s alum!”

I added that the teacher also could have said alumna and would have been correct. But that she is an English teacher made it really stand out.

Two thoughts: First, I’m proud of my daughter for catching it. Second, I’m proud that she knows not to correct the teacher.

Until next time! Use the right words!

leebarnathan.com

August 18, 2015 - Posted by | Uncategorized | , , , , ,

4 Comments »

  1. Amen to all of the above. Those alumna, alumnae, alumnus, alumni, or just “alum” mistaken usages really jump out at me too. I almost physically cringe. But you’re so right. Good for her for noticing, and good for her for not correcting her teacher.

    Comment by Anne Davies | August 19, 2015 | Reply

  2. Excuse me? Who’s an idiot? And why?

    Comment by Anne Davies | October 20, 2015 | Reply


Leave a Reply

