usingtherightwords

Guaranteed to improve your English

The Religious Redundancy


I was at a networking breakfast today, and one of my fellow attendees began by telling a joke about clergymen and their phone bills.

He started, “A Jewish rabbi, a Protestant minister and a Catholic priest …”

As I listened, I thought, Isn’t that redundant?

Of course it is. A rabbi is always Jewish by definition. And while minister&and priest have some generic definitions attached to them, my dictionary says a minister is “a clergyman, especially of a Protestant communion” and a priest is “an Anglican, Eastern Orthodox or Roman Catholic clergyman.”

At least this joke wasn’t about these three holy people walking into a bar.

Which reminds me of my favorite “walks into a bar” joke: A guy walks into a bar. He hurts his knee.

Until next time! Use the right words!

It’s here! My début book, "If You Experience Death, Please Call: And Other Fatal Mistakes We Make With Language" is out and available on Amazon. Order now for just $14.95. Contact me on my website to reserve your copy or Order here.

leebarnathan.com

September 9, 2015 - Posted by | Uncategorized | , , , , , , , , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

