usingtherightwords

Guaranteed to improve your English

Do You Have an Itch to Scratch?


Recently, my daughter asked me what was correct: scratch your itch or itch your itch. She said she has heard people say Itch your itch and thought it was wrong.

This surprised me. I don’t remember ever hearing anyone get this wrong. I thought everyone knew that itch means, among other definitions, “an uneasy irritating sensation in the upper surface of the skin, usually (because of) mild sensation of pain receptors;” and scratch means, among its many definitions, “to scrape or rub lightly as to relieve itching.”

OK, I don’t really mean people know these definitions verbatim, but I thought everyone knew the difference and the usage.

I was wrong. Again. But unfortunately, I was again right about the intelligence of this generation.

Until next time! Use the right words!

It’s here! My début book, “If You Experience Death, Please Call: And Other Fatal Mistakes We Make With Language” is out and available on Amazon. Order now for just $14.95. Contact me on my website to reserve your copy or Order here.

leebarnathan.com

September 16, 2015 - Posted by | Uncategorized | , , , , , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

