usingtherightwords

Guaranteed to improve your English

Speed up, People! I’ve Got Somewhere to Be


If you live in Los Angeles, or if you have visited it,chances are you are aware of how bad traffic can be. It wouldn’t surprise me to learn this was where the oxymoron “rush hour traffic” was coined. (Wikipedia claims the term refers to volume of traffic and not speed, but I know what rush means.)

What I hate most about traffic is the “spectator slowing,” that is, people slowing down to take a look at whatever caused the traffic in the first place. I’m in the minority, but I don’t care. I want to get to where I’m going, and I don’t need or want to slow down to see someone else’s misfortune (an accident or a stalled vehicle or being pulled over by the Highway Patrol).

I recently saw a sign on my local freeway: “In a minor crash? Pull to the shoulder” or something to that effect.

Don’t the people who wrote these words know that will cause more slowing? It would be better if the sign said, “In a minor crash? Pull off the freeway.” That way, no one sees the fender-bender or whatever the accident is, and then no one slows down.

And I get to where I need to get — on time.

Until next time! Use the right words!

It’s here! My début book, “If You Experience Death, Please Call: And Other Fatal Mistakes We Make With Language” is out and available on Amazon. Order now for just $14.95. Contact me on my website to reserve your copy or Order here.

leebarnathan.com

September 28, 2015 - Posted by | Uncategorized | , , , , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

