usingtherightwords

Guaranteed to improve your English

What Not to Do to a Bullet


All of a sudden, I dislike Adobe.

It started yesterday when I downloaded the new version of Acrobat, DC. Immediately, I could no longer edit pdf files unless I was ready to pay $14.99 a month for  the privilege.

I edit a monthly magazine that requires me to edit pdf files. Furious, I called Adobe, but the automated phone system said Adobe does not offer tech support via telephone for Acrobat and Reader.

Even more furious, I emailed the publisher and explained the situation. His response was sympathetic, but his IT guy had told him that this was the new normal.

He finished the email with this sentence: “I’ve had to bight the bullet over here and pay the monthly charges.”

Huh? Bight? Is that even a word?

Yes. It’s from 15th century  Middle English and means “a bend in a coast forming an open bay.” It also means “a slack part or loop in a rope.”

Hmm. So, the publisher was saying he had to put a rope around the bullet and buy the software. Or he was saying that he had to bend the bullet into a body of water and pay the monthly charges.

Never mind the cliche. It’s just wrong — as is having to pay for the privilege of doing my job.

Until next time! Use the right words!

It’s here! My début book, “If You Experience Death, Please Call: And Other Fatal Mistakes We Make With Language” is out and available on Amazon. Order now for just $14.95. Contact me on my website to reserve your copy or Order here.

leebarnathan.com

March 8, 2016 - Posted by | Uncategorized | , , , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

