usingtherightwords

Guaranteed to improve your English

On Comedy Clubs and Non Sequitirs


I attended a networking breakfast and heard somebody ask, “Have you ever been to a bad comedy club at 1 in the morning?”

Oh, the things you hear at networking meetings that, taken out of context, make absolutely no sense. Reminds me of the non sequitur my daughter said: “Harriet Tubman is going to be on the $20 bill because “Hamilton” is going to win Best Musical (Tony Award).”

But I digress.

I responded, “No, but I’ve been to comedy clubs with bad acts at 1 in the morning.” See, I don’t think any building meant as a comedy club is a bad club. Here in the greater L.A. area, there’s the Laugh Factory, the Comedy Store, the Ice House, the Improv (two locations), the Groundlings, the L.A. Connection, the Comedy & Magic Club and others whose names I can’t recall. But I assure you, they’re all good comedy clubs.

Which reminds me of a bad joke one might hear at a comedy club: A guy walks into a bar. He hurts his knee.

Until next time! Use the right words!

It’s here! My début book, “If You Experience Death, Please Call: And Other Fatal Mistakes We Make With Language” is available on Amazon. Order now for just $14.95.  Order here.

leebarnathan.com

April 21, 2016 - Posted by | Uncategorized | , , , , , , , , , , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

