usingtherightwords

Guaranteed to improve your English

What Kind of Juice?


It’s Passover, which means we good little Jews attend one or two dinners called Seders (“Seder” is Hebrew meaning order, and there is a definite order of things that we do each year).

The main point is to celebrate the Exodus from Egypt, but before we retell that story, there are a few things we as Jews always do. One is say a blessing over the wine. Those who don’t want to or can’t drink alcohol use grape juice.

Imagine my surprise when I went to a seder and saw bottles of “Peach Grape Juice.” Not Peach/Grape Juice. Not Peach-Grape Juice. Not Peach Grape-Juice.

Peach Grape Juice.

How is that possible? I thought. I read the ingredients. The first four were: grape juice, grape juice concentrate, water and peach flavor.

OK, I thought, it’s really grape juice. So I poured some.

Imagine my surprise that it tasted like peach juice. I didn’t taste any grape.

Still, it proved my point that there is no such thing as peach grape juice.

And I drank wine for the blessing.

Until next time! Use the right words!

It’s here! My début book, “If You Experience Death, Please Call: And Other Fatal Mistakes We Make With Language” is available on Amazon for $14.95.  Order here.

leebarnathan.com

April 26, 2016 - Posted by | Uncategorized | , , , , , , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

