usingtherightwords

Guaranteed to improve your English

An Incorrect Description of Smell


Summer means many things; unfortunately, one of them is fire. We had a big fire nearby, the kind of fire in which thick smoke rises into an otherwise clear sky, causing much damage, traffic delays, evacuations, a general sense of dread and poor air quality.

The fire last weekend in Calabasas also led me to use words poorly.

As I walked outside and saw the smoke wafting in the sky, I asked myself, I wonder if I can smell the fire.

Then I caught myself. Fire doesn’t have a smell. What fire burns is what smells.

I should have said, I wonder if I can smell what’s burning.

I couldn’t.

Until next time! Use the right words!

It’s here! My début book, “If You Experience Death, Please Call: And Other Fatal Mistakes We Make With Language” is available on Amazon for only $14.95.  Order here.

leebarnathan.com

June 9, 2016 - Posted by | Uncategorized | , , , , , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

