usingtherightwords

Guaranteed to improve your English

No Day of Rest in Finding Errors


Almost wherever I go, I find writing examples that make me laugh. This past weekend, I found them in synagogue.

Each week, the temple prints up a list of upcoming activities. Four times in the coming two weeks is this news: “Summer Drop in Hebrew.”

I can nonetheless see the truth behind this: Summer vacations will take Hebrew-speaking people away from here. I guess the temple knows who’s going and when, so it can report on these four drops in Hebrew.

Oh, you mean Summer Drop-in Hebrew? When people can come by and practice their Hebrew with Hebrew-speaking people? Then why didn’t you write that?

The next day, Saturday, the Jewish Sabbath, I attended a Bar Mitzvah. After the service, we gathered in the social hall, where one of the first things we saw (and this is common) was a photo of the boy with plenty of white space to write messages.

The sign said, “Please Sign With Warm Wishes.”

I didn’t know how to do that. I would have preferred signing with a pen.

Until next time! Use the right words!

It’s here! My début book, “If You Experience Death, Please Call: And Other Fatal Mistakes We Make With Language” is available on Amazon for only $14.95.  Order here.

leebarnathan.com

June 28, 2016 - Posted by | Uncategorized | , , , , , , , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

