usingtherightwords

Guaranteed to improve your English

Some Problems with Texting


A networker sent me this text that he received:

“I guess you missed the e-mail I sent you that I did get the Sat. Wedding gig so I was not going to be available Sat. Or Sunday. My second boss went out of town for a week and Im doing tons of work for them at there house this week. Maybe Wed. At 3:30 Malibu Library works the Topanga is to far for now cause of all the work I doing for the writers.”

The writer is American, and English is the primary spoken language, but you’d never know it from all the mistakes. Some of the problems are because of auto-correct (the capitalization of wedding, or and at, for example), but this is an example of why one must do a better job of self-editing.

Im instead of I’mThere instead of their? To instead of too? Not to mention the missing punctuation marks after 3:30 and works, and the it/them disagreement (boss is singular, but the writer uses the plural them). These are easy-to-fix mistakes.

Last week, I spoke at a networking meeting about who one must (should?) pay a professional for communications. One reason I gave was how one’s credibility is at stake with very piece of communication one sends out.

While I’m not suggesting I should be paid to edit one’s personal texts, this is nonetheless a great example a credibility gap.

Thanks to Richard C. for the text.

Until next time! Use the right words!

leebarnathan.com

October 3, 2017 - Posted by | Uncategorized | , , , , , , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

